Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase the tax on petrol (gasoline). Discuss advantages and disadvantages of this.

It is certainly true that some people interpret, by raising the fares of fuel; government can overcome the major issues of traffic and pollution. However, not all the effects of this innovation have been positive, although there are certainly some advantages. There are several drawbacks of increasing the taxes on petrol to overcome traffic and contamination. A common criticism is that lower employment opportunities for people who work at any petrol company or industry. Moreover, the government also needs to think about the detrimental impacts that occurred by raising the taxes on fuel. To illustrate, if a petroleum company does not gain any profit, how do they pay the salaries of their workers?, Instead they will fire all their employees. This is because most people are not in favour of increasing the taxes on fuel. The other negative impact can be that such initiative will affect other economic aspects such as households. For example, restaurants will not be able to cook properly because of the increased fine on gas. Due to this folks will not be able to get food. In spite of these negative effects, however, this phenomenon has brought important benefits as well. One such advantage is that clean and healthy environment. When there will be fewer cars on roads, there will be fewer chances of air contamination which will then contribute to fresh air and the healthy lives of community. Another positive effect is that it will ease the traffic in cities. crowd will begin to walk to reach their destinations rather than getting a car which will be highly beneficial for their health. To sum up, while there are some obvious drawbacks to increasing the fares of material in the oil and gas industry, it has brought us many benefits at the same time.