Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is undeniable that people of all ages nowadays tend to have their own social media account to connect them with others. Although these platforms are one of the tools to support the population's communication, there are some downsides to overconsuming social media. In the following paragraphs, both views of this topic will be discussed before the conclusion is reached. To commence with, even though social media are beneficial, there are some negative effects that should not be neglected. Firstly, spending time on these appliances without guardians guidance can lead to health issues both mentally and physically such as headaches and bad eye's sight. These issues especially affect the youth and older people. Furthermore, some people tend to post their personal information online without awareness of the consequential risks. There is research showed that most criminals are usually stalking their victims through their daily activities posted online. Despite the above disadvantages, social media comprehensively benefits people. To begin with, it is no exaggeration to say that one is able to communicate with others despite long distances through social platforms. Furthermore, people can present their daily activities, and record their special occasions such as graduations' day and engagement's day. Besides, it can be used as a tool to earn a living in some career. Influencers and bloggers,as an example, are hired by companies to review the product through their platforms. The more engagement with people they have, the higher incomes they will earn from companies. In conclusion, after a thorough analysis on this subject, I believe that the positive effects of the increase of social media's popularity are greater than the adverse effects. With the appropriate consumption and right awareness, social media can provide plenty of upsides.