A lot of problem are attributed to rapid lincrease in the number of private cars. Increasing the price of petrol Is the best way to solve the problem of growing traffic and pollution. To what extent do you agree and other effective measures.

Burgeoning in the count of private cars has severe consequences such as excess traffic and pollution so handful of people believe that hike in prices of petrol would be the best solution to overcome this problem. I have a different opinion that a hike in fuel price is not the best solution but the government can use it as an effective measure and will discuss other measures. First and foremost, the Usage of private vehicles will be decreased. Since nowadays, inflation is affecting society in every aspect of life so even basic requirements of survival are not getting fulfilled in an appropriate manner, therefore, paying high prices for petrol becomes hard for people as it leads to buzz the budget. So they were left with no choice other than public transport, ultimately helpful in lessening the traffic and pollution. To quote an instance, if people start using buses or trains for commuting, then a huge amount of private vehicles will be replaced by common public transport and amount of harmful gasses emitted by one bus or train would be less than four motor vehicles. These problems are insurmountable however by taking other measures rather than an increase in petrol price this can be curbed. However apart from, this another effective proposition for controlling the traffic and pollution is car-pooling. since multiple people work in same places and commute to the same destination on a regular basis so implementation of car-pooling would be useful as by sharing the motor vehicles, congestion will be less ultimately amount of pollution will be decreased. Ample of carpooling applications have already been developed for finding available rides easily such as BlaBla Car, side, Quick Ride etcetera. Apart from this, the Odd-Even formula where the cars having odd and even registration numbers can be used on alternate days has proven useful in some states so by implementing this concept worldwide traffic and pollution can be mitigated up to a maximum extent. To conclude, although hike in the price of petrol will enforce people to use less private motor vehicles that will help in decreasing traffic congestion and pollution, however; by taking some other steps like implementing carpooling and odd-even concepts these problems can be controlled.