In many parts of the world, people are relying more and more on prepared food from grocery stores and restaurants because they are too busy to cook at home. This is a bad idea because home-cooked food is much better for us. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are buying more and more prepared food from grocery stores and restaurants because of the twenty- first -century hustle lifestyle -- they are simply too busy to cook by themselves. On the other hand, some argue that it is a bad idea because home-cooked food is a lot better. In my opinion, I agree with how home-cooked food is more beneficial for us because it’s nutritious, costs less than prepared food, and it can become a hobby for many. First of all, home-cooked food is a lot healthier than prepared food, including ‘green’ prepared food. This is because when we cook by ourselves, we know what we are eating and we can adjust the recipes to our liking. Furthermore, most prepared food consists of MSG and other chemical substances to make the food more delicious and long-lasting, respectively. The point is that we don’t know what substances the stores and restaurants put into their food -- and it could result in food allergy, which is dangerous for our health. Secondly, home-cooked food is less expensive in a long run. This is because prepared food includes the cost of cooking, packaging, and storage, while home-cooked food requires only the cost of purchasing ingredients. Moreover, when we make home-cooked food, we can establish our own meal-plan. For example, a weekly meal plan only requires going to the grocery store once or twice a week, which costs a lot less regarding transportation. Also, whole-sale ingredients are usually cheaper than a portion of prepared food sold in the stores. Finally, making home-cooked food could become a hobby for many people. A lot of home-cooked menus do not require much time to prepare. In addition, as stated above, we can cook a dish however we like and we can find out new recipes that we can try out by ourselves. Also, cooking is therapeutic because all we have to do is to complete only one task deliberately. Thus, it frees us from the hustle culture we are facing almost every day. In summary, I agree with how home-cooked food is better than store-bought one because of its health benefits, its lower cost compared to prepared food, and the joy of cooking by oneself. Thus, we should try making more home-cooked food in order to slow down our hustle and grinding lifestyle.