In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the era, which technology is prominent and ever-changing, enterprises usually promote uniqueness in particular aspects of their products. The reasoned cause will be discussed before drawing a conclusion of my thoughts towards this phenomenon. First of all, being able to stand out from a variety of substitutes is believed to be a booster of sales. Dyson is a typical example of this, Dyson is renowned for having its engineering patens applied on some essential household appliances, such as hairdryers and vacuum cleaners, in the recent years, its products have been popularizing globally despite the fact that Dyson has never employed any celebrity to be their spokesman. As a matter of fact, our society is becoming more affluent, people are desiring more advanced and user-friendly tools to make their life easier. In my opinion, I am more than happy to witness such fierce competition between different vendors. For example, it is undeniable that Apple and Samsung are the leading smartphone manufacturers in the world and they have been launching their own smartphones yearly highlighting their unique functions. Apart from the company itself, who are the beneficiary parties? In fact, there are many stakeholders, for instance, users, electrical parts producers, telecommunication companies, to list just a few. The more sales the smartphone manufacturers can attain, the more business the related companies can generate. Thus, it is more than a win-win situation for the global economy. To conclude, advertisement can sometimes be exaggerating. However, I share the point of view that companies inventing some new features and highlighting them in the advertisement is generally bringing good products to the public, which eventually help make the world a better place.