Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective.

Over the past decade, our cities faced unprecedented growth of traffic congestion, due to which we encounter a litany of environmental pollution. Some experts believe that increasing the cost of petrol is the best way to tackle these problems. I firmly believe that there is a defensible basis for this argument. In this essay, some other possible solutions will be elaborated. The proponents of this view claim that by increasing the price of petrol, its consumption reduces dramatically. As a result, the wide demand for petrol has slumped. The key point to justify the statement could be illustrated by a tangible example. Iran, a country in Middle East has a high reputation for having oil resources. Consequently, the price of petrol within the country is not justified if compared to other countries. To cut a long story short, after applying this idea in cities, the evidence has shown most of the people turn to some Alternatives instead of the use of a private car. For example, as time went on, the rise in the price of petrol has caused the majority of people to use much more public transportation rather than in the past. Alternatively, there are other possible solutions to address this issue. First and foremost, governments should give special care to renewable energy such as water, wind, solar energy and etc. Also, they should encourage people to use public transportation such as electric tram, metro, bus and etc. Last but not least, we should own up to the fact that we need cultural reconstruction about the true understanding of the energy crisis on our planet. In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, increasing the price of petrol can be an effective factor to reduce consumption of this energy, at least in my country. Serious measures should be taken by the government and individuals as a duty for solving these problems. Also, the government must assume responsibility, stop passing the bulk and settle down the effective laws to control this issue. Finally, it is absolutely imperative we should not try to be wise after the events.