Modern medical science has made it possible to combat many diseases. This is one reason that people are living longer lives now than they did in the past. Discuss the effects this might have on society.

Modern medicine has given each individual the opportunity to live a longer life. Drugs have been developed to treat a wide range of ailments as well as to relieve the symptoms of a variety of chronic illnesses. The benefits to individuals are evident, but the benefits to society are less certain. To begin with, because of modern medical equipment, people nowadays not only live longer but live healthier lives too. For instance, fewer people die young of communicable diseases due to the fact that there are many drugs as treatment methods to prevent such symptoms. Furthermore, current medical science entails better qualifications for doctors. Consequently, this leads to the life of the bulk of older people being enhanced effectively. A longer life, in a positive way, helps us to enjoy and explore the world more than the shorter one. All of these things are not gained without the modern medical system. Notwithstanding the benefits listed above, there are still many risks associated with modern medicine. For example, more people living longer is considered that a larger fraction of society is made up of an ageing population. If any of these people are past retirement age, that means they are not significantly making a contribution to the national economy. In addition, the longer people live, the more resources they use, and society must conceive of ways to supply their needs.  To summarize, therefore, allopathic medicine has its advantages and disadvantages. However, in my opinion, I believe that living a longer life is something that we all strive for.