Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environmental issues are raising rapidly and are becoming too huge for individuals to solve standalone. However, government can take certain actions to eradicate these issues, on the contrary, these steps would go in vain without the participation of citizens. The following paragraphs will discuss both standpoints. Although, people are of the opinion that government has the authority to resolve the problems related to the environment and pollution by imposing certain rules and making laws. But, this is not true in all cases. Individual participation and adjustment is a must. For an instance, the odd-even cars rule was implemented in the capital of India to decline air pollution. However, local persons did not agree with this and instead of following this rule, they started keeping 2 number plates for their vehicles, one even and one odd, so that they can take the same vehicle on both odd and even days by just changing the number plate. This way, government will not be able to find any solution, because citizens are not agreeing with the government. On the other hand, individuals can also make a lot of difference in solving environmental pollution by doing small acts like carpooling, preferring cycle over motor vehicles, using public transport, lesser use of plastics, dumping garbage at proper places etc. Nevertheless, if one individual is doing a lot of efforts to solve pollution and on the contrary, hundred other persons are increasing atmosphere issues rapidly, then, efforts of one person will also be of no use. So, in this case, interference of government is required. In recent research, it was found that in countries, where authorities took positive steps towards preserving atmosphere, the atmosphere had lesser environmental problems. In conclusion, both individuals and government authorities should work together to decline atmospheric adulteration. Authorities should implement certain laws and people should obey them. Also, individuals should try to preserve the atmosphere at their end in day to day life.