A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that fame and wealth are considered the most important factor to look at from someone in society nowadays instead of their personality-wise. Although there are still some people who really value the trust and kindness of others, I partially agree that people nowadays are mostly blinded by fame and money. It is obvious that there are still many injustice practices in our society and also how young people follow trends to show off what they have is quite concerning. Injustice practices are always happening, as people use their money in an inappropriate way. Some people often break the law by bribing, and this really gives massive disadvantage for people with low financial condition. For example, there was a case that went viral where a poor grandmother have no other choice but to steal some bananas from her neighbour to feed herself and her family but got sentenced to 3 years in prison, but government officers who corrupted only received a few months in prison as their penalty. Young people use social media in their daily life, and most of them followed trends so that they don't feel like an outcast. Trends like showing off their luxury bags, shoes, or outfit are always receiving a lot of attention from many people. This even makes how having high status in society is so significant. In conclusion, I partially agree on how society nowadays focuses more on fame and wealth instead of important values like kindness, honesty and trust. It is a sad truth that people can see in society.