Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the 21st century, technology has become a part of our life and the modern world, especially with the advent of computers and smartphones. The introduction of computers into classrooms for teaching purposes is an idea that is supported by the majority, however, some say that the dependence on this machine may carry risks to students. My opinion is we should use computers in the classroom because the benefits weigh much more than the risks, and this essay will discuss both points of view. The use of computers in lessons has two-fold advantages, both from the students ' and teachers' perspectives. For instance, students will acquire multiple skills to operate a computer such as typing, making presentations using software, and researching course material online, which will prepare them for higher education as well as for their future careers. Furthermore, it is easier for the school faculty to arrange their lessons and grade exam papers. As a result, having a computer in schools greatly benefit the pupil and teachers alike. On the other hand, the opponent of this idea says dependence on this modern technology may carry a certain degree of risk to the students. For example, individuals may lose essential skills such as writing using pen and paper and learning how to do mental calculations. Moreover, the costs associated with having computers in classrooms will take a huge proportion of the institution's budget. Therefore, using computers for direct teaching purposes does not come without risks. In conclusion, arguments from both sides are valid. However, the risk of using this technology can be mitigated. Schools should ensure that the students be given appropriate skills and tests on writing as well as mental calculation if computers are introduced in the learning sessions. With this, I am of the opinion that computers should be used in the classrooms.