Some people argue that globalisation has been a great benefit to people around the world, while others believe that it is the cause of many of the problems we see today. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Globalisation is a phenomenon in which nations and countries are more interconnected as a result of an increase in trading and culture exchanges. While there are some people who advocate that globalisation is beneficial, others argue that it can have several negative effects on communities and countries. As far as I am concerned, I feel that, on balance, this phenomenon has been positive to our world. Regarding the first point of view, globalisation is seen by many as a positive aspect of the modern days. By exchanging cultures and expertise, the world has come closer and it has become easier to perceive each other beliefs, in order to increase the respect by other cultures. Another interesting point is the fact that nowadays, a person from Portugal can work from home to an American corporation, for instance. As a result, people can now broaden their choices, relating to searching for a job. Another effect has been the increase in trade relationships between nations. It is totally normal to export and import different kinds of food, gadgets and devices, which is paramount for many countries, that are reliant on the production of these goods. On the other hand, there are some who are against this interconnection. It cannot be refused that there are some negative effects, as a rise in pollution and a raise in some franchises which makes different places look like everywhere else. Examples of junk food suppliers can be given, like Macdonald's. The truth is these food chains have been implemented in all continents, from Europe to Asia, and the food tastes exactly the same. As a consequence, it can be detrimental for some minor local activities, once their business might drop significantly. Furthermore, those places might lose some of their features and cultural symbols. In my opinion, while I understand that there are some negative points, I feel that becoming closer to each other is something with several benefits. Being able to travel the world and enlarge the knowledge about that is overwhelming. What is more, having the possibility of working for any company on the other side of the globe is something which is appealing to the younger generation. In summary, although it is undoubtedly that globalisation also has some problems related to pollution and disrespect from some places, I believe that the pros outweigh the cons. The way nations are connected enable people to travel freely and feel comfortable in almost every place in the world. We are now allowed to explore and understand different customs and cultures, as well as work with every company settled anywhere in the globe.