Some people say that men are naturally more competitive than women, while others believe that there is no difference in the competitiveness of men and women. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

Competitiveness is a feature of every human being. It is a characteristic that enables people to achieve better positions and a better quality of life. While there are some opinions about males being more competitive than females, there are some people who argue that both genders have equal levels of competitiveness. To my mind, I believe that men are more competitive, regarding their ambition for power. According to the first point of view, there are some people who advocate that males are more ambitious and competitive than females. Our history is full of important kings, soldiers or presidents, who were paramount to conquer territory and make the right decisions in war times. The truth is, back in those times, the role of women in society was minimum, and they could not expect anything but to be in the background of the developments. I believe that this legacy continues to the current days, and males still feel the appeal of being the strongest and the bravest as possible. It can be seen inside companies, for instance, where the fight for better positions is constant. On the other hand, women can be more practical and clever. Moreover, females have built over the last decades, a solid position amongst men and they consider other types of priorities, such as maternity. Mothers usually put their children's well-being in the first place, which results in more pragmatic decisions concerning competitivity. Regarding the second opinion, there are the ones who argue that together, males and females have no difference. It is true that in modern days there are more areas in which both genders have high performances, for example, in the health care system or teaching. These roles are now occupied by almost the same proportion between men and women and it can be suggested that it happens because they are equally competitive. What is more, even in universities, the number of female students has grown over the last years, accounting for more than half of the total. As a result, it can indicate that both are studying and working in order to achieve better positions and careers. In conclusion, I feel that men are still more competitive than women. The most important vacancies in corporations continue to be occupied by males, as well as the large majority of our governments. While it can be the result of the existence of more available options for them, it can also demonstrate that they are more interested in achieving higher roles, due to their competitiveness.