It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessery to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is sometimes argued that punishments should be imposed on children so that they could differentiate between right and wrong in the early years of their lives. While I accept that punishments can sometimes have positive effects on children and therefore should be applied, I believe that parents and teachers should choose proper ways to punish their children. Punishments could change the awareness of children. Once they have wrong-doings such as disobeying or telling a lie, instant punishments are vital for them to realize their mistakes and eliminate bad behaviors. Parents could give their children warnings or light physical punishments if they are too stubborn. For instance, when I skipped classes at primary school, my mother asked me to walk to school rather than take a bus and do chores for a week. This not only helps me realize truancy is improper but also increases my self-discipline. However, parents and teachers should choose appropriate ways to teach good behaviors to children. Harsh corporal punishments should not be used because they affect negatively children ’s psychology, such as mental disorders and deep depressions, and pose a threat to their physical health. Instead, parents can opt for educational punishments such as doing housework, setting the limit to recreational time, or reducing allowance to avoid money-wasting for useless activities. Teachers, similarly, should not reinforce corporal punishment or humiliation but alternatively require them to write their wrongs to educate them about the classroom’s disciplines or submit more homework. In conclusion, it seems to me that punishment is of significance to educate children on how to distinguish right from wrong, which punishments are applied should be carefully chosen.