Some people think that computer games are bad for children, while others believe that they are useful. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of computer games

Access to various technological devices, including computers, is now commonplace among children. Some say that games played on these devices are detrimental to young people while others think the opposite. I believe these games can have both positive and negative outcomes for children, depending on several factors, and in this essay I will explore these two aspects. Certainly, when games are age-appropriate and children are supervised, there can be many benefits for youngsters. One key positive outcome is the enhancement to problem-solving skills and creativity. Indeed, many games are designed to challenge young minds by, for instance, simulating a current problem in the world. Greenpeace has recently designed such a game for children called Our World which presents a range of different situations to which players respond and then see the effects of their actions. Another point to mention is that gaming can have significant social and psychological impacts. Multiplayer online games like World of Warcraft enable players to interact, cooperate or compete. Participation in these communities has been shown to boost confidence and reduce feelings of isolation that many young people may feel. There are, however, legitimate concerns when it comes to certain games. Those that seemingly promote violence and law-breaking, such as Grand Theft Auto, can have negative impacts on those who play them. This is especially true of young children who are yet to learn the distinction between real life and virtual worlds, and may end up committing violent acts themselves. Another downside of some computer games is their addictive nature. There are many stories of young people who become so completely involved in playing that they lose all sense of time and forget to eat or sleep. The impact on their health and on their studies can become severe, even leading to them dropping out of school or being hospitalised. In conclusion, I believe that all the technology at our disposal can be used for good or ill and computer games are no exception. Young children who play them can derive educational and developmental benefits from them, or can be drawn into a dependent and unhealthy relationship, which provides no clear positive outcomes. It is up to their guardians to ensure the outcome is positive.