Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether manufacturers and supermarkets are liable to take care of excessive packaging or it's the consumer's responsibility to discourage such practices by ceasing the purchase of such items.In this essay, I will explore both views and provide reasons for my perception. To start with, The merits of multiple layers of packaging are apparent in certain items. For instance, food. A superior quality packaging for the same ensures the longevity of edibles. However, I believe there are many times when a company can put effort into minimising the packaging that was not necessary. For instance, while transporting a mobile, high-end packing is of utmost importance and hence packaging cannot be compromised.Whereas while shipping clothing items, manufacturers can resort to recyclable and biodegradable forms of packaging. In contrast, some may claim that it is the duty of a customer to encourage the production of goods with unwarranted packaging. In present day society, the orientation of businesses are more focused on encasing their products in a striking manner. The sole aim here is to attract more clients.And so if popular brands start resorting to biodegradable and reusable packaging and also promote an environmentally friendly approach, this might bring enthusiasm in buyers to opt for the same. Furthermore, buyers can carry their own jute bags instead of asking for extra polythene bags for carrying their luggage. To summarise, I firmly adhere to the fact that industries can bring reform in the current practices with the help of mass media to create more awareness in the consumers regarding minimalistic packaging and on building a cleaner planet.