In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of advertisements which try to persuade children to buy snacks, toys, and other goods. Parents often claim that these ads are unfair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some are of the opinion that it is unethical to advertise to children. In my opinion, although at certain ages these advertisements should be permitted, in general children are too vulnerable a segment of the population. Those who argue in favour of advertising to children point out it is not necessarily unfair. There are situations when even these proponents would concede advertising is exploitive, such as when there are commercials for cereals with high sugar content during cartoon shows. However, this is only a single instance. Many children, especially as they get older, are capable of thinking rationally, controlling their need for instant gratification, and would therefore like to be informed about new products they are interested in. If a child who is 10 years old sees an advertisement for a water park or sporting event, they might convince their parents to enjoy a fun, outdoor activity. Nonetheless, most children are negatively impacted by advertisements as they lack self-control. Adults are more capable of inhibiting their desires while children are not experienced enough and their cognitive development does not allow for higher-order reasoning. For instance, if a young child sees an advertisement for alcohol or a violent video game, there is a strong likelihood they will want to try it. Even if they do not actually get an opportunity to use an age-inappropriate product, the appeal of these products has already been deeply implanted. Recent research supports the contention that habits and impressions formed in early childhood are harder to leave behind later in life. In conclusion, despite the feasibility of certain advertisements for older children, most marketing directed at impressionable children should be banned. This will be a difficult process to manage but many countries have undertaken it already.