The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this burgeoning world, congestion on the roads is increasing with the rise of population. Some people believe that free public transit can help to reduce the traffic on roads but this will have some negative impacts for system owners. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I strongly disagree with this opinion. To start with, If the system will provide a free public movement channel then most of the humans will stop using their own vehicle for daily travelling and it will directly impact the traffic by reducing the number of motors on the roads hence reducing the pollution and accidents as well. Secondly, public transport can be used for advertisement and more folks using them have more knowledge about such products which will give an indirect benefit to the government economically. In contrast to the above point, there will be more crowd in public transport which will make the journey uncomfortable for some people like a senior citizen, children and pregnant ladies. For example, in a fully occupied bus, a pregnant lady may not get a seat. The budget is another loss for the authority from this action. Because money earned from tickets can be used in the maintenance of bus stops, railway stations and vehicles. Therefore this is a huge loss by making travelling fares free for everyone. In nutshell, the government may reduce the gridlock with free public transportation service but it has some negative effects like budget and more people in the buses, metro. Therefore, In my opinion, reduced fares should be the better approach to deal with the traffic congestion rather than making it all free.