Studies show that many people in the prison have low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate in prison, so that they can get a job when they leave prison. To what extent do you agree.

There have been many studies carried out and it has been conducted that the majority of convicted criminals have the minimum level of education. Some people think that to reduce crime, prisoners should be educated while they are in jail in order to find a job when they are out of it. I strongly agree with this statement, because by doing this detainees will learn new skills and they will be shown a different approach to life. Firstly, criminals are put in prisons for committing crimes and they need to suffer the punishment given to them. Once they are out, they usually repeat the same thing again and everything goes in a vicious circle. However, if those criminals are taught new skills during confinement time, they are more likely to use those skills to find a job when they leave prison. This means that these people would be occupied doing something more valuable for themselves and society instead of committing further crimes. For example, prisoners in the UK learn skills such as carpenter and housekeeping which they use these qualities to find jobs when they finish their sentence. Another reason why I strongly believe that prisoners should be educated in order to reduce crime is that they will be shown a different perspective to approach growth. Learning can broaden everyone's horizons. It questions why people take some actions in their lives, what went wrong and how to learn from our mistakes to improve things for the future. For example, people who had access to training during their prison time, when they have left prison, not only have not repeated committed crimes, but have spoken out and influenced others about the right way to approach life. In conclusion, learning is essential for prisoners if we want crime to be reduced. It teaches them new skills which can be used outside the prison's life, it also, broaden one's horizon, it shows the right path that people should follow.