In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

In the modern days, youngsters watching newspapers or news on TV have become a rare sight in many countries. It is believed that they have lost the culture that people have been doing every single morning. First of all, young people don't watch the news is because they are able to gain news from the internet. In the era of technology, almost everyone is connected via the internet either through mobile phones or laptops that are easily accessed. Moreover, social network platform such as Instagram and Facebook, contains thousands and thousands of information all over the world. They allow teens to obtain information with a few simple clicks. As a result, they neither have an interest in watching newspapers noor TV news programs. To solve this problem, schools should educate children on the importance of reading newspapers and nurture their interest in it from a young age. On the other hand, parent behaviour is also the reason causing them not to watch the news. Parents nowadays are raising their children surrounded by electronic gadgets all the time. For instance, they use their phones in front of the children to either entertain themselves or to distract the kids while feeding. Children, who learn behaviours through their parents ' influence, follow what their parents did naturally. In order to tackle this problem, parents should make conscious efforts to ensure they do things that they want their children to duplicate; it can be reading newspapers or watching the news on television in front of them and explaining its importance. In conclusion, although newspaper editors and the media industry face threats from growing technology, these problems are not insurmountable. In my view, it is the responsibility of the parents and schools to tackle this issue and they should begin by considering some of the solutions proposed above.