Some people think that students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend on important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Several individuals believe that school children should be taught food and nutrition. Whereas others argue that learners must study crucial subjects full time. In my opinion, I am of the view that both subjects are important. Certain people opine that the science of food and its preparation must be part of the school curriculum. To begin with, it is of uttermost importance that all young people should be well versed with all different types of food nutrients and their importance in the human system. This is crucial as it will curb the occurrence of some fatal conditions such as obesity. In addition, the preparation of food is another topic that should be imparted to pupils. This must involve food handling and proper food hygiene to mitigate issues of food poisoning. Furthermore, the education conveyed to scholars will enable them to have a better understanding of the benefits and drawbacks of home-cooked meals and fast foods prepared in restaurants. Moreover, imparting knowledge on the preparation of food to minors will help them to appreciate the nutritional value of some good ingredients to the human body. Conversely, I think that both the study of food science and all other subjects is crucial in the learner's curriculum. Firstly, not all pupils are keen on learning food nutrition only hence the importance of incorporating several subjects in the learning system. To add to that, learning only one subject will become monotonous for the students thereby it must be taught in moderation together with other subjects such as Maths and all sciences. Another point worth noting is that, for the young ones to have a clear understanding of diseases and their causatives and some preventive measures other subjects are to be put in schools programme, for instance, human and social biology. In summation, although some schools of thought argue that learners must be equipped with the knowledge of food sciences, I conceive that all subjects are equally important.