Nowadays many people read the news online instead of reading newspapers or watching TV. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

there is no denying that these days exists persons who preferer obtain their daily reports trough online media, because they have rapidly access for update news, also the news online brings convenience and diverse entries or search. However, exists important drawbacks such as fake news and an significant increase of unemployment on mass- media field. In this modern society, many people prefer web media for read or watch news, because they deliver news faster across a variety of convenient platforms, even for free and in many different languages, therefore they could have access to the events in all world instantaneously in their cellphones. Besides, the public can choose the fields and topics they are interested in, such as sports, politics, economics, sociality and more. Additionally, there is no limit of researching news. For example, users easily obtain the international information by clicking a bottom on their favorite websites like BBC or CNN, which provide recent success to the public. On the other hand, when people use the social media for read news, they could be expose to a fake news and several disinformation, because not always the online medias have a confident source, and they can use false or alarming news to reach the attention of the public and generate more ranking, publicity or views. Another aspect to consider is the alarming increase of people who are losing their jobs in the traditional media. For example, in this decade, have closed many local newspapers in Antofagasta, leaving hundreds of workers unemployed, especially old people. In conclusion, there is no doubt that reading news online or watching shows has some advantages as well as disadvantages. On the positive side, people can know about all things what is happening around them and research all the information that they want. On the other hand, this trend has vast impact on people’s job who works with mass- media and expose the people to dangerous fake news.