Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to higher positions. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples.

Determining the fairness of the promotion of staff is an ongoing debate among people. Some advocate that a staff member who has a long career in a certain company should be promoted first. On the other hand, others counter the arguments suggesting it is not fair to other staff members. A close examination will clearly demonstrate why a staff who contributed most to a company should be promoted first. First, it is better in the long run for a company to reward an employee who made a lot more profit. The company or the owner of it can evoke the staff's willingness whose made better results to work more and harder by rewarding more than others. For example, the staff who was expected to earn 50 dollars but actually made 100 dollars will feel very happy if he received a reward for 100 dollars. Also, he will work more and make more profit for the company because he will think that the company will reward as much as the results he made. Together with, other employees who saw this rewarding system will begin to try to make more successions in order to take more rewards from the company. Therefore, this phenomenon will lead to the company's success. Second, company members may lose their motivation for work if the leader of the company gives a promotion to another member who just took a place longer. As I have mentioned earlier, willingness to work more and better is important to run the company longer. Nevertheless, this promotion method, promoting workers who worked longer, may cause others to not want to work more. For instance, employees can think that it is better to avoid a venture because they may think it can not lead to a promotion or other rewards. Also, they may think that simply working longer without any venture is a safer way to get rewards or be promoted. Therefore, this situation may reduce the overall creativity of the company and may affect the company badly in the long term. To sum up, determining a sequence of promotions by the duration of employment is bad for the future of the company because employees may lose the will to work harder if the company has the policy.