In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

As currently published by The Times, most people widely believe that external variables such as media plays the most significant factor affecting the development process of kids. However, another group is of view that family is the main factor instead. In my opinion, while a children development is in fact affected by a lot of factors, I concur with the opinion that family is the most prominent variable; however, this essay will explore both aspects of the discussion. On one hand, media is believed to be have most influence on children. For instance, children may find his /her aspiration to be a singer by watching talent shows on TV. Apart from television, children also spend plenty of time listening to music and watching children educational videos at certain online streaming services. However, it depends on the quality of the content. If the content they consume is educational, it will help the children to become good boys and girls. Conversely, should they be exposed to improper contents, it might negatively impact their character developments. Nonetheless, family life remains the heart of early psychological development. Children are unlikely to have much access to any kind of media in their early years when researchers say the majority of personality formation occurs. The basis values such as respect, discipline and right behaviour can only be taught by responsible parents. If parents are strict, unforgiving and withhold their love then children begin to either turn inwards feeling rejected or strive compulsively for their parent’s esteem. These early, learned behaviours will manifest themselves in progressively more unhealthy behaviours and evolve as the child matures. Conversely, a child who is loved unconditionally but given honest feedback from their parents has a much greater chance of becoming a well-adjusted adult with strong role models to imitate. To conclude, despite the fact that factors external such as media have an impact on a child's development, family has the most significant potential to turn a child into a well-behaved adult.