Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

It has been known by experts for a long time that colour is a special aspect that can put significant influence on people's mental well-being. Therefore, I personally opine that people need to pay attention to hormony that colours can create while designing workplaces or hospitals, as colour schemes are extremely important for health and ability to work. First of all, it is vital to decorate places where one usually spends most time to ensure good feelings. People often spend much time at work, where they are likely to face mental tension and get tired of such difficult routine. In addition, if the decoration of offices is not taken into account, this can further cause some psychological issues to workers, affecting their mood and attention span. For example, both scientists and psychologists recommend to use sheds of only light colours to decorate the premises because dark colour is considered to negatively impact of nervous system, making people concentrate on bad things first. Moreover, light colours do not make a person's eye be tired, as they are not heavy to perceive. Therefore, colour schemes are significant as a worker's feeling can directly depend on that. On the other hand, perception of colour is highly important for sick people in hospitals as well as for medics who labour there. Patients who take courses of treatment in a hospital should seriously take care of their nervous system, otherwise there is a risk of further deterioration of health. Most hospitals are associated with white colour, because it has been proved that this colour can lift people's mood and make them forget about all problems. This approach helps doctors to be sure about mental stability of their patinets, thus boosting the quality of treatment process. To sum up, colour plays an enormous role in people's feelings and good choice of decoration of places can significantly strengthen mental health as well as capacity for work.