SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT STUDYING AT UNIVERSITY IS THE BEST ROUTE TO A SUCCESSFUL CAREER, WHILE OTHERS BELIEVE THAT IT IS BETTER TO GET A JOB STRAIGHT AFTER SCHOOL. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS.

The debate on whether to attend tertiary institution directly from school or to engage oneself in a job is very interesting. The choice of which tract to follow, will impact on a person's career prospect eventually. This essay argues that advancing one's education soon after school will enhance rapid promotion, while having a job just after secondary education will enable people to settle down with family earlier in life. To begin with,many professional courses, such as medicine require people to enrol in the university immediately after completing school as teenagers. This is because it takes a long time for one to complete medical training. Besides, having a university degree makes the chances of getting hired brighter. Moreover, people will rise to managerial position even as young adults. For example, it is believed that most doctors graduate young from college despite the length of years involved in the study of medicine. Consequently, they are able to rise to the peak of their career in a short while. Alternatively, some people decide to pick up blue collar work, after secondary school on account of lack of money to proceed, and the desire to settle down to family life. For them, one can become a graduate anytime after securing a job, this is in addition to the fact that they think raising a family will help them to be more focus and committed to their spouse. Ultimately, they derive joy and happiness from these accomplishments. A typical example was my uncle who lost his parents as a child, he saw himself through school and immediately settled down with a wife. Today he is both a graduate and a husband with an amazing career. In conclusion, people's preference of whether to attend tertiary institution soon after school or not, is dependent on many factors. Some of the reasons include job prospect, the need to rise fast in the office, family life as well as the lack of resources for further training.