Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the products produced in factories have lots of sugar which are harmful to health. Some individuals think that it is a suitable solution to make these products more expensive to encourage people not to buy them, but I wholeheartedly disagree with this state, and in this essay, I will explain the reasons. The main reason for this disagreement is that increasing the price has no effect to prevent people not to buying and eating them and opposite lead them to unhealthier lifestyle. Because these products have become one of the essential items in our diet and if the government made them more expensive, folks would have to spend less money on other healthy foodstuffs to afford sugary products. For example, a family needs to spend about 50 dollars on vegetables and fruits and 20 dollars on sugary foods. When 20 bucks increase to 50 dollars, they have to cut down the proportion of vegetables and fruits. In addition, rising the price of these foodstuffs is not a worthwhile solution and vice versa has adverse psychological effects on society. Owing to increasing prices, folks think they should buy them more. Because these will become luxury products. Hence, individuals will be more eager and keen to use them and this method not only encourages residents to consume less sugary foods but also makes them purchase more than they need. For instance, last year in Balk city chocolate was become expensive by the government and it caused more families wanted to buy it to store it. In conclusion, although individuals are aware of the harmful impact of these products on our bodies, making them more pricey is not a remedy to this issue. And in my view, it is not a feasible solution for everything which is unhealthy to be more costly. The government should apply in another way.