Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, institutions of higher education are presenting programs online rather than face-to-face. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty as to the merits and demerits of this development. In this essay I will review the issues to seek a conclusion. To begin with, classroom-based learning has the obvious advantages of personal interaction, whereby the teacher can build a relationship with each pupil. Moreover, by gauging their strengths and weaknesses and even tailoring the study material to suit individual learning styles, expert professionals can guide their students more efficiently and effectively. Furthermore, a school is a society where classmates learn cooperation and interpersonal communication skills among their peers, which makes them better able to adapt to the workplace in the future. On the other hand, technology makes it possible for those who live in remote areas to follow a curriculum at home, regardless of distance and space. Also, independent study allows more flexibility, since instead of having to be in class at a certain time, the learner can schedule study according to personal convenience. In addition, while most schools are able to offer only programs for which they have teaching and other resources, materials on every possible topic can be found online, thus adding to the convenience factor. To summarize, there is no doubt that attendance in learning institutions have been the mainstay of education for a thousand years. At the same time, however, technological advances have changed the learning environment, and now everything can be accessed remotely. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that while both distance learning and class-based study have their advantages, on balance the institutional context probably offers more to the learner.