Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some would argue that it is correct for governments to finance artists, while others believe that this money should be used for public benefits. Although I agree that it is important to invest in public services, I do not think spending on the arts is a waste of monetary resources. There are several reasons for spending a significant amount of the government budget on public services. First and foremost, public services such as hospitals, roads, and schools in this country are chronically underfunded, and this has led to bad life quality. For instance, if the government does not spend enough money on hospitals, the health of our society may decline. Similarly, if not enough money is spent on schools, our children may not be properly educated. Also, it will be the poor in our society that will be affected more if we do not spend enough on these things because they are the ones more dependent on such services situation in which many people cannot receive the treatment they need when they need it. Although investing so much money in public services is essential for life quality, we cannot put aside arts as a factor for a better life. However, young painters and sculptors need grants and loans from the state because they are not established enough to support themselves. That is to say that at the beginning of their careers, no one knows who they are, and therefore, they are unable to sell any of their works and that is why they need monetary support. Moreover, the arts also have an important impact on our quality of life because many people get great pleasure in going to see music and theatre performances so it is important that the government assists such institutions so that they can continue to provide entertainment to the public. These are the reasons why I believe in the importance of funding arts. To conclude, there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into public services as this influences the quality of life for nearly all of us. Having said that, I do not believe spending money on the arts is a waste of money as this too provides important benefits.