Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

It is such a controversial issue that video games can be used as an education tool, whereas some people think that playing video games can cause serious side effects. Although playing games can help us make better decisions, I am of the opinion that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages as it can bring about serious health problems. One of the main benefits of playing video games is that it increases our problem-solving skills. When we play games, we have to use our brain a lot and it stimulates our brain to make better decisions quickly. So, in a way, it helps children to improve their academic performance by training their brains to make fast and correct choices. For instance, according to the report commissioned by the University of Sydney, children who play video games have better achievement in their academics compared with those who do not. On the contrary, the major drawback of pc games is that it can lead to drastic health issues. If youngsters play computer games for hours without sleeping, it can cause physical and mental health problems such as diabetes, hypertension, cardiovascular disease, depression, anxiety, insomnia and so on. A compelling example of this is my friend’s cousin. When he was a teenager, he would spend days and nights consistently playing computer games. This caused him to suffer from a stroke due to a lack of sleep. In conclusion, despite being a useful educational tool when used in an appropriate amount of time, I believe that the cons outweigh the pros since playing games can bring about physical and psychological health disorders.