Today. The sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, most of the products in the market are advertised on a comprehensive range of platforms. Some people argue that many of the best sales commodities are sold due to advertising rather than individuals' needs in societies. I agree with the idea of the remarkable impact of advertisements on sales rather than consumer needs. On the one hand, some essential products do not need to be broadcasted. As these products are humans' needs for survival, people actually purchase them based on their needs. For example, depending on people's society and culture, various groceries and foods, mainly relating to their traditions, are consumed. Moreover, undoubtedly, selling medicines and everything related to that is reflected in what customers sincerely require rather than anything else. For instance, a cancer patient would never buy any unrelated drugs. However, many items in the market are not vital and may even be unnecessary. On the other hand, advertising has a significant impact on what consumer interest will be. Indeed, companies with massive investment in showing off their products throughout the wide range of platforms, such as TV or internet or even a simple banner, try to persuade their audience to buy them, regardless of whether they are practical or not. As an example, clothing is one of the industries, most likely sales due to the brands rather than other considerations. In addition, many other items in the market, such as vehicles, and technologies, are most likely reflected with a glamorous brand or what the manufacturers want to be seen in their announcements. Not to mention that Many individuals do not have sufficient knowledge to judge whether it is what they need or not. In conclusion, as the primary reasons mentioned, although some goods are unavoidable to buy due to the importance, most of which in the market are certainly sold because of the effect of their advertisements regardless of the society, culture or needs.