In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

With the growing competition nowadays, businesses tend to promote their products by presenting them as new commodities in their advertisements. The intention behind this is to pique customers’ attention by masquerading it as a unique selling point. In my opinion, this can be seen as a negative development since it can lead to overconsumption beyond people ’s necessities. The main reason why products are shown as the latest version is a marketing scheme to gain consumers' interest. People are more likely to be curious about new items that highlight their upgraded features or launch their latest model. For instance, every single time Apple launches their new iPhone, many people will flock to buy it as soon as possible due to its proclaimed improved quality. Hence why businesses label their products as brand new to get potential buyers' awareness. Nevertheless, focusing on new characteristics of commodities in ads can create excessive consumption in society. This is because, in the long run, consumers will purchase items just for the sake of novelty instead of necessities. As evidence, these days many young adults own multiple mobile phones even though it is not essential for their daily use. Instead of seeing it as a tertiary need as it used to in the past, people consider it as part of the primary requirement to own commodities with the latest features. This excessive lifestyle is the result of businesses' embellishment in their commercials. In conclusion, the primary reason companies advertise their items as new is to exploit people's attention for the sake of profit. Unfortunately, this recent trend is causing a negative impact on people ’s way of living.