Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective?

In the contemporary epoch, traffic and pollution are increasing rapidly which is becoming a crucial issue for our society. It is reckoned that the rise in the price of petrol is the greatest way to resolve these issues such as traffic and pollution. However, I find it challenging to concur with this statement. This essay would attempt to explicate my point of view and other effective measures in the forthcoming paragraphs at its length. To begin with, fuel is not the only cause of congestion and contamination problems. It also depends upon some other factors such as industrialisation, plastic etc. If the government increases the petrol cost then it will decrease the use of petrol. As a result, it will lead to the reduction of air pollutants but it will be a slight reduction that can not be observed on the ground level. To exemplify, In India, the administration imposed high taxes on petrol and diesel thus, the fuel price increased but the level of pollution and traffic remained the same, proving that increase in the price of petrol is not the best way to deal with the issue like pollution and traffic. However, awareness among the citizens can play an indispensable role to get rid of these issues. It begs the question: how it can be possible to eradicate these issues? The answer is that in this modern world, individuals are not aware of the harmful effect of pollution. If the state organises the event to aware the people, citizens will reduce the use of fuels and other items which lead to the destruction of the environment like plastic, burning wood. Moreover, It is also necessary to provide the people with another alternative so that the common man can use them in place of fuel. In addition, the infrastructure of roads can be improved to remove the traffic problem. These measures will collectively take a great positive change for our environment. To conclude, a rise in fuel price is not the best way because this path is not sufficient to deal with this issue. It can slightly help to reduce pollution but we can not observe that reduction in reality. To get rid of these issues we have to take some other steps like awareness and alternate ways which collectively helps us.