As transport and accommodation problems are increasing in many cities, some governments encourage businesses to move to rural areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, overpopulation leads to some problems, such as transportation and accommodation issues. Some of the governments encourage companies to settle in suburban areas. I believe that moving businesses to rural areas has more advantages than disadvantages. Focusing on the downsides, firstly, the government should spend an extra amount of investment on the infrastructure in the rural areas, such as electricity, water, traffic network etc. which is the basic requirement to attract enterprises. As a consequence, the government may face an increase in the financial budget and hence may rise the taxpayers’ burdens. Furthermore, since the corporations move to a remote area for businesses, their employees might require to spend more time commuting. This may cause the company less attractive to capable staff and they would resign from their post. Thus, it would affect the productivity of the company. Other than the drawbacks mentioned above, there are several benefits that come from the new policy. At first, the overpopulation problem of the city is mitigated. When more businesses are moved to the outside areas of the main city, their employees and family may also move and live near the company. Consequently, the number of citizens will be decreased. Moreover, the running cost of the businesses may be reduced, especially the rental cost. Take Hong Kong as an example, the rental cost in Admiralty, the central of Hong Kong city, is 150% higher than that of Tung Mum. Therefore, the policy is beneficial to both the government and the enterprises involved. In conclusion, the government may face a short-term financial hardship and it may affect the companies’ attraction at the very beginning, however, the long term benefits of alleviation of overcrowding in the city and the financial advantages for the companies may outweigh the drawbacks.