Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Health problems are a multi-dimensional problem, but sugar consumption is one reason for public health issues. For this particular reason, I agree with the notion of making sugary products more expensive. The primary assumption behind this idea was a simple economic calculus that stated that humans are rational animals. Humans are rational animals, which means that humans will always consider the cost and benefit of something. Whether it is something to do or the meal they will eat, they will always make sure that the benefits outweigh the costs. Hence, the general public would always utilize the reasoning daily. Mundane activities such as picking food products also require rational thought. For the middle and lower class people, the meal budget should be managed wisely to fulfill ends meet. Therefore, there is a high chance that they would try to keep their meal budget as low as possible. Other needs, such as houses or transportations, are mostly fixed and hard to manipulate. Since the only viable budget to manipulate was meal spending, food products should be the intervention target. If the price of sugary products is beyond affordable, people would not be able to buy sugary products. The government could utilize tax to make sweets producers spend more on their production process. Consequently, it would disincentive people, and they would buy cheaper and healthier diets instead. The decline of expenditure on sweet products would eventually contribute to the level of sugar consumption of the masses. It is possible to see a healthier society simply because people cannot afford sweet food and drinks.