Fatherhood ought to be emphasized as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing their children up. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Parenthood is both an exciting and exhausting stage in a person's life. It is a shared responsibility between two people with the same goal, thus, being a father is just as important as being a mother. However, there is an assumption that mothers have the sole responsibility of child-rearing because of their fertility decisions, but I strongly disagree with this view. In this modern time, people are more open to the idea of equality among all genders. Both the patriarchal and matriarchal roles are considered to be significant in society. The old customs and tradition that women must only take care of their children and spouse are long gone. Nowadays, the husband and wife share responsibilities in the home such as; providing financially, doing household chores, grocery shopping, cooking, and sending the kids to school. This change fosters bonding and a harmonious relationship. Moreover, it is also known that planning the timing, gap, and the number of children is a mutual decision of the couple. Specifically, in the Philippines, the law on Responsible Parenthood and Reproductive Health recognizes the crucial role of men in consenting to interventions pertaining to fertility and contraceptive methods. For example, a woman cannot go through permanent surgical sterilization or ligation without the written consent of the partner. This means, that the decision to bear a child is an informed choice and voluntarism in both sexes and so is the dutiful obligation to raise a child. In conclusion, the societal roles of a father and mother have changed over time. It has adapted the modernization and gender equality trend. The duties enveloped in creating a family is already shared between both parents and the significance of each task is recognized in the community.