Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to show imported foreign film and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

For the past decades, the importance of a country developing its own motion picture expertise versus importing foreign entertainment programs has been the centre of attention in the entertainment industry. I believe that having the best of both worlds would work most effectively. There are certain grounds supporting the view of featuring foreign films and TV shows. Firstly, globalization supports the widespread of cultural products that integrate within themselves the essence of the nation from which they originate. Viewers, therefore, while enjoying the entertaining element of these programs can simultaneously learn more about the world and its various cultures. For instance, an Asian viewer can be amazed by the individualism conveyed in western blockbuster movies while an American can explore the significance of collective eastern values from a Chinese or Korean drama. Furthermore, the international trade of these items has not only aided the development of globalized culture but also broadened people’s understanding of the diverse world around them. It is not deemed daring to say that without cultural exchange through TV channels, feeling and learning about other cultures would turn less visually impressive. On the other hand, it is justifiable, though may be considered ethnocentric, that domestic entertainment products retain an equally indispensable role in a country’s film segments. The most obvious reason is that the act of a country developing its own movies and broadcasting industry is of necessity to preserve its culture. Through local films and TV shows, children and adolescents develop their cognition of local customs and traditional values and have a tendency to practice them. Another endorsing reason is that domestic films and shows are irreplaceable products that bring people true feelings and a complete understanding of contexts and clichés used. Since people can more easily relate themselves to others who speak their language and whose behaviour they could totally understand, viewers can reflect on themselves and their society in a lively way through local TV programs. In conclusion, I believe it is crucial for a country to find a balanced coexistence of both ways, not only advancing towards globalization but also preserving one’s unique film and TV industry.