Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In present-day society, open-space rooms have taken over closed space rooms for employees. I opine, that this caters to more benefits for the companies rather than contributing to their detriment. Thus, I will present the merits of the mentioned concept and also put reasons for my perception. Firstly, the pros of joint spaces have a straight effect on an individual’s mental health. Not only does one feel distressed but also relieved as they get the opportunity to exchange ideas and thoughts with the other colleagues and feel a part of the community. To give a clear example, many accountants have reported feeling anxiety while working in cabins due to loneliness and job-related stress. Secondly, there are a few drawbacks of working close to each other but are limited. One downside is, the decrease in productivity. People working in a firm with adjacent demarcated cabins, apparently concentrate less while doing a task at hand which hinders the results. This might be due to their chit-chatting and gossiping with others. To exemplify, Senior executives have stated that after employing the concept of close-nit sitting areas for employees, the job outcome has reduced. To sum up, the limitations are outweighed by the utility of having an open-space design because it improves our state of mind drastically. Moreover, certain losses can be borne by the company which is quite minor.