Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus on science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more people to take an interest in the arts?

In most societies around the world, arts play a major part in the culture. Although some people still engage with this, the majority try to seek other professionals in science and business. less profit and minimum job opportunities with arts could be the main reasons for this development and this can be reversed by encouraging these professionals with government support and using some awareness programs. In the following essay, this writer wishes to further elaborate on this. To begin with, since ancient times arts like music and drama have been interrelated with human life and kept as a major part of the human culture. Unfortunately, with the development of science and technology, the requirements of humans have increased and profit, which is available from arts was not sufficient to meet it. At the same time, people have become very busy and the demand for art also decreased. As a result, artists try to engage with other profitable professionals like business and science. For example, according to a recent survey conducted by the cultural ministry of Sri Lanka have found, 85% of professional artists, find it difficult to live with the income they gain from selling their arts. On other hand, most nations around the world realised that art is important for human development since it builds up the creativity and capacity of a person. since most countries try to implement new programs to reestablish the art and human sciences rather than science and technology. Awareness programs among their citizens using mass media is one main way of achieving this target. Apart from this,most governments provide financial support for artists and scholarships to students who engage with art subjects for their higher education. For example, in Sri Lanka, the government provide scholarships worth 25000 rupees per month for students who are doing drama in the arts faculty. In conclusion, with less demand and minimum profit, most people refuse to engage with art -related professionals. however, with proper government support and good awareness programs,we can overcome this problem.