In many countries insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think may be the reason for this? What problems might this cause in society?

Showing respect to senior people is rarely seen these days in many nations. In my opinion, I think this may cause by a change of living pattern and independent attitude. Taking this etiquette for granted probably leads to violating the right of senior citizens. Nowadays, the form of living has been changed a lot. In the past, people usually lived in a big family which includes some older members. However, at present, after becoming adults, most individuals tend to prefer separating themselves to live in their own places. This creates a distance between them and their family, especially their senior family members. A great example of this is the citizen of western countries including the US. Additionally, being independent makes the youngers feel that they do not need to rely on anybody, so they might think that paying respect to older individuals is not necessary anymore. Personally, I believe that if this culture is disappeared, it will cause a social problem that affects the senior citizen’s rights. To illustrate, if the younger do not care anything about the senior, they might take advantage of the older. For example, public transportation normally provides reserved seats for those seniors. If younger individuals do not pay attention to the right, they would take the seats carelessly. In conclusion, I would say, showing respect by the younger to the senior has been decreased due to the change of living lifestyle and freedom attitude. Because of this, the senior may live more difficult compared to the past due to older citizen’s right ignorance