Memorization of information by frequent repetition, namely rote learning, plays a role in many education systems. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Copying the context of textbooks frequently is common in a vast of education systems. Some people argue that there are a lot of advantages of it, while I completely believe that its cons are far more than pros and I will discuss it below. Studying, again and again, results in some excellent benefits. In particular, it has become a constant way that most students keep for so long. First of all, it gives our brain so much stimulation that we remember the terminology of our subjects, especially those professional ones. Secondly, nailing down a concept in certain topics takes more time than memorizing it repeatedly, which we could contribute to the other issues we might be interested in. Therefore, repetition for studying is effective compared to other ways. However, I hold the position that its shortages surpass what we gain from it. To begin with, what we usually ignore is that we will not forget the knowledge of particular fields if we coherently understand the heads or tails of them. Focusing on the importance of memorizing is totally impractical, as students even write down a huge amount of notes instead of figuring out the concepts. Furthermore, rote learning does not highlight applications. This means we might remember a large number of words theoretically rather than practising them in real life. In conclusion, there are undoubtedly lots of benefits of memorization for education. But I reckon they hardly outweigh the disadvantages.