In some places, old age is valued, while in other cultures youth is considered more important

In different places, there are different valuations about the old and young members of a community. Some believe that senior citizens are more valuable assets in our community while others believe that youngsters are more valuable. However, I think that both groups equally contribute to the community. Admittedly, old people can be beneficial for society in a number of respects. First of all, it is generally acknowledged that elderly people are full of experience and wisdom. Therefore, they are able to provide meaningful advice for young people when they confront difficulties in their lives. What is more, in some historical countries like China, respecting old people are a part of their traditional culture as the civilization of those societies was built upon countless efforts of old generations. Therefore, valuing the elderly is to express our appreciation to them for the contribution they made in the past. However, the value of young generations should never be ignored as well. It is undeniable that the younger people are the main workforces which society depends on to thrive, and even survive. For example, the vast majority of taxpayers are young people under 55 years old. They not only pay taxes regularly but also can do physical-demanding jobs that senior people fail to handle such as policemen and firefighters. In addition, in some immigrant countries, young people are considered as dynamic energy that will develop a society in the future. In conclusion, I believe that senior citizens are good decision-makers as they are full of experience and wisdom while younger generations are dynamic energy that drives productivity in society. Accordingly, both generations are equally of importance for the development of nations.