Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children's story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

It's been a topic of debate if children reading books as a past-time activity is beneficial, some argue that it is just a waste of time and children should engage in other leisure activities. In this essay, I will be discussing why I totally disagree with this notion. To begin with, reading stories are considered an educational and enjoyable activity. Through,reading children are able to foster their acquisition of literacy, build up their vocabulary and broaden their horizons. A recent study that was conducted in The UK showed that children that started reading books at a young age had higher grades in academic subjects such as English literature. Moreover, It will stimulate cognitive development, through reading children form their own opinion and perspective on various topics. Furthermore, when parents read with their children it will strengthen their bond. And last but not least when reading a story children can learn important lessons about. in conclusion, good stories are both enjoyable and educational and instil a love of reading in young children.