People can eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Food is the basic necessity of every individual. In this contemporary world, people are fond of new tastes due to which they prefer to eat foreign food. Nowadays, there is a huge variety in food and people can eat food from different regions even sitting at their homes. Following the trend of eating foriegn food, the local food producers are getting disadvantaged. This essay is an attempt to address the disadvantages of eating food from other countries over its advantages. The two main disadvantages are taxes and diseases associated with food produced outside. Firstly, for meeting the demands of people's tastes, local vendors import the raw materials from overseas. Import and export consume a high amount of taxes. This causes the loss in local businesses. Secondly, the production of food in other areas is according to the area's season which becomes non-seasonal for the local area. Therefore, eating food that is out of season can cause health problems because preservatives and chemicals used to preserve them are harmful to the body. For example, a recent survey has concluded that food poisoning is becoming prevalent due to canned food imported from overseas. On contrary, the taste is the only advantage of the food available from different countries. The wide variety in food allows people to taste mangoes in winter which is a summer fruit. Similarly, there are plenty of options avail people to avoid locally produced food. For example, Australians can eat winter vegetables in the summer season because they are frozen and imported from other nations. In conclusion, although, the taste is important the demerits of eating foreign food cannot be overlooked. Health should be the first priority therefore, local food should be promoted to ensure a healthy nation.