Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favoring more computer-based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

It is argued that art subjects are becoming less preferred, whilst there is the rising popularity of computer-based educational programs among scholars. From my perspective, this evident phenomenon is advantageous to learners and I will discuss some reasons justifying the trend. It is undeniable that the preference provides wards with a variety of benefits. With advancements in technology, the requirement is that employees are capable of handling sophisticated systems. As the matter of fact, many companies and organizations are operated mainly by information technology and IT-based programs can provide essential knowledge to meet employers’ demands. Moreover, advanced technologies provided in classrooms can help to enhance not only scholars’ comprehension but also their creativity. To illustrate the case, surveys carried out in Chulalongkorn University have shown an increase in both productivity and academic performance among the populace taking up information technology classes. One of the principal reasons for this tendency is that art subjects are regarded as boring and rather impractical, failing to catch students’ interest. Knowledge obtained from art classes is theoretical and inapplicable in real life, therefore computer-based modules are arousing learners’ attention. Another justification is that IT is considered a facilitator for individuals’ career paths. With reference to the promotion of the IT industry, students are nudged towards being more engaged with computer science in order to meet prospective employers. Many leading enterprises are seeking employees' expertise in artificial intelligence and Vingroup is a prime example of this case. In conclusion, there is a tendency of students to opt for computer modules instead of attending traditional classes in school and university. It is my firm conviction that the phenomenon is beneficial to both students and society for some apparent reasons.