People are living much longer than before, and this creates enormous pressure on government services. What are some of the effects of a much larger, older population and what can governments do to deal with this problem?

For years the life expectancy of sixty years had been viewed as a norm, but recently it has increased significantly by twenty years and reached to 90 due to the healthcare improvement. As a result, a great number of negative effects are being induced for the government to deal with, which put a considerable burdan on its shoulders. The following essay will overlook two of these consequences which are proceeding with two solutions. The population's aging has undoubtedly brought some disadvantages for countries. The most obvious effect is the necessity of healthcare facilities. For example, the prevalence of comorbidities, like diabetese and their consequences like stroke, has been increasing over the last decade. Consequently, the enquairy for health care facilities has risen which not only does need the government to spend money for building them but also for hiring more staffs. The second consequence of this phenomenon is the increase of the retirement period. To illustrate, the government used to pay pensions for about ten years while it is now about thirty years. Moreover, the social services that are being covered for seniors should be taken into account. Although the above-said results are grave, they are avoidable and the solutions are feasible. First, one workable solution that is being suggested for solving the former problem is increasing the level of education. For instance, if students be educated about old-age ailments and the preventive measures, the rate of these diseases will gradually decrease. Second, the retirement age should be increased for solving the latter problem which is not possible unless by improving the jobs' environment for seniors. Obtimising jobs' conditions based on seniors' situations might prolong the time that they can work. To sum up, population growth and aging are unevitable. though there are some serious problems such as causing pressure on the health system and the government for paying pensions, by educating young generation to live healthier and provide safe job opportunities for elderlies, we can overcome it.