Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in todays world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Certain individuals opine that history is one of the vital subjects in learning institutions while others suggest that nowadays, science and technology subjects are better than history. I agree with the latter statement because only science and technology subjects are able to equip students with knowledge on how to solve their daily challenges and that of the globe. On one hand, history is seen to be an important subject to pupils in schools. This is so because it is the only course that teaches about the preserving of heritage and culture of a country. To put this in perspective, without history subjects being taught in schools, none of the children would understand the rich culture of their country let alone the values that govern them. Moreover, this would distort the importance of celebrations such as national holidays. Take, for instance, the independence day celebrations in Zambia that are held every year, would be of no value if school-going children are not taught about the struggles that their forefathers experienced while fighting for freedom and why such a celebration is a reminder of such an event. This is one thing that science and technology can never teach children. Nonetheless, I still dispute the fact that history is better than science and technology subjects in schools. On the other hand, science and technology are the only subjects in the learning institutions that can enable children to acquire the knowledge needed to solve everyday problems of life and of the whole earth. In other words, because these subjects teach young learners to understand how certain things in society and in the environment operate, children tend to be more creative and thus find solutions to some of these challenges. For example, if children learned about the causes of wildfires through science, they could be able to determine the kind of interventions that could work through the use of technology. These benefits outweigh any importance that the history subject could ever have. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my statement that science and technology subjects in schools are more important than history. Even though these courses may not teach about heritage and culture like history, they tackle the most important aspects of daily life challenges.