Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been claimed that the government of each country should provide free basic healthcare services, even if expensive medical treatments cannot be provided through these services. I completely agree with this idea, as I believe that this would benefit a large proportion of the population and this essay will discuss the benefits of this idea. There are several benefits associated with providing free medical facilities to the citizens of the country. Firstly, this development would mean that even the low-income groups would have access to the necessary healthcare without worrying about the expenses. Secondly, early identification and cure of disease would prevent the spread of diseases in society. For example, according to an article in Times magazine, children in the slum areas of India are often ill as they are unable to afford the required medication which results in the spread of germs and infection to healthy individuals. Another reason this trend would be beneficial is that it would increase the average life expectancy of the citizens. Access to free healthcare would mean that deadly diseases such as cancer or AIDS can be detected at an early stage and the required medical action can be taken. This would thereby result in reducing the death rate of a country. For instance, as per research by Cambridge University, two out of five cancer deaths could be avoided if the tumour was identified earlier. To sum up, while it may not be feasible for the government to provide all medical treatments for free, it would be beneficial for society to have access to basic health care services. As the saying goes, 'Health is Wealth', the country would benefit from providing free health services to It’s citizens.