Influence of human beings on the world’s ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of bio-diversity. What are the primary causes of loss of bio-diversity? What solutions can you suggest?

Human activities have a detrimental effect on the ecosystem, and several species are on the verge of extinction, which is undoubtedly leading to the loss of biodiversity. Deforestation and the hunting of animals are the two prime tangible causes of this phenomenon. This can be mitigated by launching campaigns and stringent rules. The predominant reason for the disappearance of species is the cutting of trees in forest areas. To be precise, in order to fulfil the requirements of an enormous population, a large proportion of forests are being cleared for agricultural, industrial and urban use. Therefore, many animals and plants living in those areas lose their habitat, which will obviously lead to the extinction of those species. Another reason would be the killing of animals. In fact, many animals are being killed for food and economic profit. For example, elephants are killed for their tusks, so they are also reducing their numbers significantly. Some possible actions that could be taken to mitigate these problems are mentioned below. Firstly, Government should launch massive campaigns about the harmful effect of deforestation. For instance, individuals should be educated that each species has a significant role, and the disappearance of any of them can have an adverse effect on the ecosystem, Therefore, one should not damage forests, rather support afforestation. Secondly, illegal hunting and poaching should be banned and controlled by the Government. Moreover, strict punishment should be given to the violators of the law. To conclude, irresponsible human activities are causing many environmental issues, including the extinction of animals and, thereby ruining bio-diversity. The main causes of these problems are the killing of animals and deforestation. This essay has suggested some methods to control these problems, such as conducting awareness programs and imposing regulations against the killing of animals ̣.