You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words

It is argued by some individuals that technology has invaded our lives for the worse. I don’t agree with this idea. People enjoy uncountable advantages nowadays that are given by online technologies. In this essay, I will give examples of some of them, even if they are just a few. Firstly, science has developed dramatically since researchers are able to share their findings and results amongst their fellows around the world. As a result, international teams of scientists can collaborate on new lines of research easily. Thus, new ways of fighting diseases have been discovered. For instance, new treatments against cancer are discovered every day, giving hope to the diseased. Secondly, knowledge and culture have disseminated around the globe. Therefore, people from different cultures can learn from one another. Consequently, tolerance and respect for the differences have increased, since we have understood that there we have much in common. The wave of solidarity and collaboration when a natural disaster happens is almost instantaneous, and international help steadily appears wherever it is needed. The NGO campaign for helping the victims of the Japanese tsunami is a good example of it. Finally, in spite of these advantages, social media and lack of content control have a dark side. Experts have warned about the rising of anxiety and depression in our children, due to the exposure to aggressive content not suitable for their age. Adult content and violent films are achieved by very young users with just a click. For instance, porn films have been found on the cell phones of students of primary schools Taking all this into account, in my opinion, the balance between good and bad is clear. Information technology has brought us great advantages that have made a better world for most of us. The proof is that Everybody is using technology these days, even the ones who abhor it.