Fossil fuels (coal, oil, and natural gas) are the main sources in many countries. However, in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy (wind and solar energy) are encouraged. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Used intensively in many nations, fossil fuels, especially coal, oil, and natural gas, are playing an important role as they are the primary sources of energy. On the other hand, some countries prefer using more environment-friendly energy sources such as wind or sun. Although changing toward renewable energy types is considered to be advantageous, there are some notable drawbacks that should not be neglected. Beginning with the negative aspect, it is unquestionable that shifting to eco-friendly power sources would cost the government a large amount of time, human resources, and money. In other words, it would be costly to replace all fossil fuel power stations with renewable energy sources, as wind turbines or solar panels are not very cheap. Many nations will struggle to change, especially developing countries, which have limited budgets. In addition, alternative energy sources often heavily rely on the weather unlike fossil fuels, which can constantly generate power as long as there are natural deposits to be mined. For instance, wind turbines need wind, solar panels need sunlight,... so countries that have unsuitable areas for alternative energy would find it hard to change. However, despite the apparent negative sides, it is clear that there are also prominent advantages that renewable energy sources bring. First of all, opposite to non-renewable fuels, alternative energy is harmless to the environment. This means that shifting from fossil fuels to the more eco-friendly ones will help to prevent air pollution, climate change, and global warming. Moreover, natural deposit is not unlimited, as someday the world will face an energy crisis when there are no fossil fuels to be mined. This is the reason why we need to find unlimited sources, and wind, solar, wave power are the perfect candidates. In conclusion, even though the energy sources changing has accompanying negative aspects, these do not outweigh the bright sides that bring by eco-friendly energy sources. In my opinion, this development is beneficial in the long run.